Food fads and manners: How I got my son over this.

I will be the first to say I am blessed with a son who loves food. He is a good cook, and he can taste food and understand what is missing. For my son, he sees tastes in a kind of 3D; he just understands if it is a strong flavour or a subtle small flavour that is missing and more importantly how and what to add to create the balance to the over-all taste of the dish.
When my son was around three, he hated many food things and really could not mix textures or wet things such as gravy with dry such as peas. Now for a while there I met that need but soon realized that unless we wanted this for life, it was up to me to help him through this. I broke this down into bite size challenges. First off, I found a nice plate that had sections, so I could place things into each section. The rule I set here was, that even if he didn’t like something that he just had to leave it on the plate in the section it was in. Now nothing in life is easy, and at first we got the plate thrown around, and meltdowns over the change. However, I kept things calm (I was a real bag of nerves, inside) I would cook his favourite foods to help this change. Then I would leave just one small piece of something new or something he did not like such as a slice of carrot all alone in a section of the plate. The rule here was if you don’t like it leave it. This I found as a great way to built-up skills that he can take on throughout his life. My thinking behind this issue is you are an adult far longer than a sweet little boy, and if you eat out or somewhere else you need to be able just leave it on your plate without a fuss. Over all this worked well, and I think took us around four months to get passed the worst bit. I have to say the bad bits were bad! I had the odd day where the walls wore the food. I had days where I wore the food, but I kept going staying strong in the hope for the end result. On to this we worked forward to add on things like gravy and more and more different types of food. Even the change from ‘baby spoons’ to toddler cutlery then on to family cutlery and plates all took time. Please understand I more than allowed for his freedom of choice, and we had good days, days that stayed the same and even backwards steps.
Today, my son can eat or leave any food without a big fuss, most the time! He cooks really well and has a unique talent with food, a long way from the days of meltdowns every meal time.
So to you guys out there that may be on the start of the journey, hold on. Help the child to change and grow. Any child we have we are working towards giving them independence and being able to achieve in life, sometimes without realising, and so we should try to help our children with Asperger’s at least to the same level if not higher to have skills that others just manage, remember it can be a real disadvantage if they are still only eating baby food as an adult.

Leave a Reply

