How to help someone else have self-motivation ?

I would love to hear from others on how to self motivate. Where do you start? You see the thing I am thinking is that my son lacks this really important area of self-development. If I nag or talk him into it, things get done, but the minute I stop he goes back to the same old same old!
He is 19 now, and I am not getting any younger! I worry about what the future holds for him. He just can’t stay the same for ever. I am his only support, and this is the disadvantage of living in a country where there is no help at all for him. To even find a therapist we are talking about a drive of an hour each way, which I would do but something he will not do.
I know that I could be over worrying but as a Mum, I do. I just can’t get him to see that some things have to change. I always believed that for true change to happen, it has to be by their own thought process, not just a supported change but one that holds value and enables you to go forward has to be from within. I do think we have to support that change to happen, even with a lot of help, but for real change it should be taken on and continued by them.
What do you think? Drop a comment and let me know.
I do get so worried about this!

Leave a Reply

