Talking can help

I was lucky enough to have a really good talk with my daughter this weekend. I shared with her what is getting me so upset.
As she is five years older than my son, she has a good handle on how he has grown up and how life has been for us all.
She reminded me of how we were building a soft playroom come safe-room, as his temper was just so bad in those days, how we had no knifes or even forks in the house as he would stab out at us. How a spoon could hurt! I had forgotten, not completely, but enough to start my guilt trip of ‘Have I done the right thing moving?’ ‘Have I taken away his opportunities?’ She reminded me life is not perfect but we are all better and happier people for the move and the slower pace of life! That is why this blog got called ‘Life in the slow lane’ because that has been the best thing we did.
Nothing like a well aimed kick up the ass by someone who knows what things were like, and where things could have gone! Who said our kids can’t teach us anything!
So ever onwards and maybe just a little more on the ‘Chill, he will get there when he is ready!’

Leave a Reply

